Cochran, Patricia (DCOZ)

From: Akievia Hickman <info@email.actionnetwork.org>

Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2022 1:04 PM **To:** DCOZ - ZC Submissions (DCOZ)

Subject: Artist/Member support for Dance Loft/Heleos development project — ZC Case No. 21-18

Follow Up Flag: Follow up Flag Status: Completed

Some people who received this message don't often get email from info@email.actionnetwork.org. Learn why this is important

CAUTION: This email originated from outside of the DC Government. Do not click on links or open attachments unless you recognize the sender and know that the content is safe. If you believe that this email is suspicious, please forward to phishing@dc.gov for additional analysis by OCTO Security Operations Center (SOC).

Members of the Zoning Commission,

I am a Dance Loft on 14 community member writing to express my strong support for the redevelopment of the Dance Loft on 14 building, located at 4618 14th St. NW. DC's Comprehensive Plan sets out a vision of a city that is more affordable, inclusive, and environmentally friendly, as well as better-served by neighborhood-based arts and culture.

We currently have a chance to move toward all of these goals with a single project. This project will create first-class art and cultural space for Dance Loft on 14, and allow this fantastic non-profit to continue serving children, school groups, community residents, and artists from all over DC with one of the few dedicated neighborhood dance spaces in the District.

With all the recent closings of many Dance and Arts spaces in the metropolitan area, this new building will become a new home for artists like me. This building will also be a community hub for neighborhood residents as a place where they can come and meet. I encourage the Zoning Commission to approve this request and support this project's potential to contribute to an artistic, inclusive, and thriving community.

Thank you for your work and service, as well as your consideration of this matter.

TO:

Commissioner Hood

Commissioner Miller

Commissioner Shapiro

Commissioner Imamura

Commissioner May

CC:

ANC Commissioner Ulysses Campbell, 4C03

ANC Commissioner Paul Johnson, 4C07

ANC Commissioner Maria Barry, 4C02

ANC Commissioner Vanessa Rubio, 4C01

ANC Commissioner Yvette Marbury-Long, 4C04

ANC Commissioner Audrey Duckett, 4C05

ANC Commissioner Namatie Mansary, 4C06

ANC Commissioner Clara Botstein, 4C08

ANC Commissioner Alan Wehler, 4C09

ANC Commissioner Jonah Goodman, 4C10

Councilmember Janeese Lewis George, Ward 4

Will Perkins, Ward 4 DC Council office

Dance Loft on 14

Akievia Hickman

kievie.98@gmail.com

3420 Toledo Terrace

Hyattsville, Maryland 20782